In Maryland, a hit-and-run charge is taken seriously. Leaving the scene of an accident without providing reasonable assistance can lead to a misdemeanor if it involves property damage or a felony for an accident involving bodily injury.

Possible Penalties If You Do Not Remain at the Scene

Possible Penalties If You Do Not Remain at the Scene of Car Accident

An accident involving property damage can lead to a maximum fine – of up to $500 and/or jail time of up to two (2) months in jail. If another driver involved leaves the scene of an accident and causes serious bodily injury, this is a felony, and they can face a maximum penalty of $5,000 and/or up to five (5) years in prison. If the accident results in death, then hit and run carries a maximum penalty of (10) years in prison and/or a $10,000 dollar fine.

Drivers who hit a pedestrian and leave the car accident scene face a felony and up to five (5) years in prison and/or a maximum fine of $5,000.

So, anyone who leaves the scene of an accident can be in dire trouble. This is especially true if they don’t render reasonable assistance and are ultimately charged with a hit-and-run conviction.

Accidents Resulting in Bodily Injury or Death in Maryland

If you’re involved in a hit-and-run accident then, you need to immediately report the collision, whether it involves damaged property or an accident involving death. An attended vehicle is a safe vehicle under hit-and-run laws in the state. It’s also important to make sure you have an experienced attorney at your side.

Anyone who fails to render aid where the person injured has a serious injury or has experienced severe bodily harm is subject to the Maryland Transportation Code rules as well.

This code covers rules, such as parking a vehicle involved in an accident in a safe area, or away from a sidewalk or crosswalk – out of the way of pedestrians and cars.

So, it’s important to call for medical attention or offer medical treatment, if applicable, and immediately pull over to a safe spot if you’re a person involved in a vehicle accident. It’s better to account for property damage and injuries than electing to leave the scene of an accident.

If you don’t want to face criminal penalties and you’re involved in an accident with your car, you need to make certain that any injured person receives medical care and that your damage is attended properly.

Contact the Police Immediately and File a Report

What can happen to drivers license in a hit nd run accident

If you’ve been hit and the other driver is guilty of leaving the scene of an accident, you need to contact a police officer immediately. In an accident resulting from this behavior, a license suspension may prevent the other driver from repeating the same offense.

This is also necessary for meeting the mandates imposed by the Maryland Motor Vehicle Administration and the policy requirements set forth by your insurance plan.

One’s driver’s license can be revoked, or a driver’s vehicle can get impounded if a driver chooses not to remain at the scene of an accident.

Make sure you give the officer your driver’s license information, including your driver’s license number and vehicle registration number. Include also the car’s license plate number, if possible, of the driver who is at fault and left the scene of the accident.

The police report will be used to provide accident results, including the person attending to personal injury complaints. People who remain at the scene are considered credible in the eyes of the responding police officer.

This makes gathering the required insurance information much easier. It also allows the driver’s insurance and driving record to remain in good standing.

Any inattention or unattended property is noted in these instances. So, you need to remain at the scene of an accident.

Get In Touch with a Lawyer

It’s also important to contact an experienced traffic lawyer to ensure the insurance information provided is correct and that you have the proper legal representation.

If you’re involved in an accident of this scope, you need the experienced services of the Law Offices of Alex Poberesky, P.A., a Maryland and D.C. law firm of attorneys who will fight to make certain you are protected and that you receive the most from your claim. From the very beginning, they can help you arrange transportation in an accident resulting from another driver’s recklessness and disregard.

Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage in Maryland

Uninsured Motorist (UM) Coverage in Maryland

Uninsured motorist (UM) coverage is a required part of your auto insurance policy. It provides coverage when the other driver who is at fault cannot be identified. UM insurance steps in to cover your damages and injuries and lost wages.

UM insurance mirrors the minimums of your state liability protection – $30,000 per person and $60,000 per accident.

How Does a Hit-and-Run Affect Your Insurance Rates?

If you’re the victim, filing a UM claim is considered filing a not-at-fault claim under Maryland hit-and-run laws. It may increase what you’ll pay in insurance. You’ll need to check your insurance plan or check with the insurance underwriting agent. Some insurers will offer forgiveness in these cases.

For a hit-and-run driver who is caught, the prospects are not good. Their insurance rates may rise sharply, or they may find it difficult to obtain coverage.

How to Report a Hit-and-Run Accident

Below is a step-by-step guide for reporting a hit-and-run collision:

  • Call the Police Immediately: As soon as it’s safe, call 911. Reporting the accident quickly is vital.
  • Gather Information: Write down everything you remember about the other vehicle (make, model, color, and if possible, license plate number) and the exact location of the accident scene.
  • Look for Witnesses: If there are any witnesses, get their contact information. They may provide critical details.
  • Take Photos: Use your phone to take pictures of the scene, your vehicle’s damage, and any injuries you sustained.
  • Report the Accident to Your Insurer: Inform your insurance company about the hit-and-run as soon as possible.
  • Follow Up: After reporting to the police, get a copy of the accident report. It will support your insurance claim.

How to File an Insurance Claim

Deadline for Filing an Insurance Claim

Here’s how to file an insurance claim after a hit-and-run:

  • Report the Incident:

Notify the police immediately after the accident. Again, a police report is essential.

  • Gather Evidence:

Take photos of the scene, your vehicle, and any injuries. Note the time and location.

  • Contact an experienced accident attorney for advice:

It is essential that you speak with an accident lawyer before you call your insurance company. It’s because anything you say to the insurance company may affect and damage your compensation claim.

  • Contact Your Insurance Provider:

Do this as soon as possible, ideally within 24 -48 hours of the accident.

  • Provide Documentation:

Share the police report, photos, and any witness statements with your insurer.

  • Review Your Policy:

Understand what your insurance covers, especially for uninsured motorist protection.

  • Keep Records:

Document all conversations with your insurance company, including dates and the names of representatives.

  • Follow Timelines:

Be aware of any deadlines for filing claims under your policy to ensure you remain eligible for compensation.

Hitting an Unattended Vehicle, Other Property, or a Parked Car

Hitting a Parked Car

Under Maryland law, leaving the scene after hitting an unattended vehicle or parked car and causing property damage is illegal. If the owner is not present, drivers are supposed to leave their contact information in an obvious location, such as a note beneath a windshield wiper.

How Often Are Maryland Hit-and-Run Drivers Caught?

Catching hit-and-run drivers can be challenging. However, with today’s technology, such as traffic cameras and dash cams, more perpetrators are being caught by Maryland law enforcement officials. The success rate in apprehending these drivers often depends on the evidence at the scene as well as eyewitness accounts.

Are There Defenses to Maryland Hit-and-Run Crimes?

In hit-and-run cases, defenses by hit-and-run lawyer firms often are complex. But,sometimes, a driver might not have known they caused harm or property damage. In other cases, a driver may have fled the scene because of an emergency.

Contact the Law Offices of Alex Poberesky, P.A., if You Have Been Involved in a Hit-and-Run Accident

Facing charges for a hit-and-run in Maryland is serious. If you’ve been involved in a hit and run, either as a victim or as the accused, you need the experience and skillful knowledge. So contact the Law Offices of Alex Poberesky, P.A., for a free consultation and case analysis. Understand your rights and options if you require the legal assistance of a hit-and-run lawyer or need to maximize your compensation recovery after your injuries.