In Maryland, it is not illegal to purchase a vehicle if your license is currently suspended. Nevertheless, it is considered illegal for you to test drive the vehicle or, if you do purchase it, to drive it home.
Driving on a suspended driver’s license is considered to be a misdemeanor and could land you in jail, facing serious financial penalties, as well. The minimum fine for driving on a suspended license is $500 and two months in jail. You could also be assigned 12 points on your driver’s license, which would mean instant revocation. The maximum penalty is 60 days in jail with a $500 fine and three points assigned to your license.
Therefore, if you are considering purchasing a car and are still under a license suspension, make the appropriate arrangements beforehand to have someone else test drive it and, if purchased, bring it home. For more information, contact our law firm at (410) 484-0400 and schedule an appointment to speak with one of our legal representatives.
Can I Get Car Insurance With a Suspended License in Maryland?
The state laws of Maryland stipulate that it is not illegal to purchase, insure, or register a vehicle while your license is suspended. However, this does not mean that there will not be problems that you may encounter during the process. One main issue in Maryland is the ability to ensure the vehicle is properly. This is mostly due to the fact that car insurance companies are not agreeable to creating new insurance policies for those individuals who cannot prove that they can legally drive.
Insurance companies have set policies in place where they must verify a new applicant’s driver’s license before they agree to issue an insurance policy. If you are caught driving without auto insurance, you could face even more potential fines and even time in jail on top of the charge of driving on a suspended license.
If you need to have a car insured, but your license is suspended, you have two options. One, you can wait until your suspension period is over, have your driver’s license reinstated, and then obtain car insurance for the vehicle. Alternatively, you could also choose your spouse or a relative to be listed as the primary driver in the insurance policy. However, whoever you choose must also have a valid license.
Can an Attorney Help Me Get My Suspended License Reinstated Early?
If your driver’s license has been suspended and you wish to have it reinstated, there are two options from which you can choose to get it back. The first option is to simply wait for the suspension period to end and then go through the appropriate steps that are involved with reinstating your license, such as payment of fines, etc.
The second option is to speak with an experienced attorney who can guide you through the steps necessary to try to reinstate your license early. The attorneys at our law firm understand how the Maryland Vehicle Administration (MVA) works and how to navigate the complex laws that often accompany license suspensions. It should be understood that each individual case is unique and, therefore, will have its own set of challenges. Nevertheless, we can review your case and advise you of the best steps that you can take to proceed. Contact our law office at (410) 484-0400 and schedule a free initial consultation.